Sick of the desk job in corporate america

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dexter12

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I finished my undergraduate degree 4 years ago with a dual degree in Finance and Biology. I know, it's an odd combination but it is what it is. During my college years, I had friends that were both pre-medicine and friends that wanted to go in the business route. Both routes seemed appealing to me for its own reasons. The pre-medicine side because of the prestige, status, money, job security, etc (not so much because I LOVED science) and the business side because it seemed cool to work for a top 4 accounting firm making 60k and earning money right out of the gate at the tender age of 22. My science is probably ~2.8-3.0ish. Cumulative GPA is a 3.4.

After I graduated, I was offered a job to go work for a management consulting firm where I made a decent amount of money for someone my age. After some time, I hated it so much. It was very stressful and there were a lot of incompetent people there. I left the company after 2 1/2 years and went to a new company where it is less stressful with very nice co workers.

I have the 8-5 job with good pay and benefits. But sometimes I seriously question whether or not I truly enjoy what I do. So it always points me to the medical field because that was my other option during my college years. After working in a stressful and crazy hour place, I realized that I probably wouldn't even joy being a doctor no matter how much money they paid me especially after reading about all the stories of how much people hate it.