So many things to prepare...yet none is ready and I'm out of time.. HELP!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JinTaek

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, how are you doing?

My name is Jin Seo, I'm a student who is preparing for applying at some optometry schools.

After graduating from N.C State in 2012, I've been working at local restaurant for living money and studying OAT time to time. Oh yes, I just got my shadowing started last week, planning on doing at least 8 hours a week, so I would have at least 50+ hours of shadowing experience when I applied to schools.

It is really hard to keep up with real life stress and studying in same time. I'm getting so much stress trying to deal both in same time in schedule and most of the time, it fails:smack:.. However, the time went so fast, it is almost time to apply.. I believe starting July 15th.:eek:

I graduated from N.C State with 2.96 GPA as Zoology major in 2012, took a microbiology class this semester (Got A! :D). I'm planning to take biochemistry class here in N.C State in summer session between July 1st to August 6th.

Now I know I have to use OptomCAS website to apply to all the optometry schools that I'm interested in. But I have some few questions.

1) When should I take the OAT exam??- I've been studying with Kaplan OAT test prep books and honestly I'm not quiet ready to take the test. I do know that it is always good to apply early as possible. I'm thinking take the exam end of the June, so I start my summer session. Oh and Yes.. one more thing to ask.. When should I apply to take the test? how long prior to actual test date? I tried to check but it seems like I have to pay first and I do not have the money at the moment.. :mad::mad: