So once and for all, are these AA's hydrophobic or hydrophilic?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

swollcat

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Are the polar, uncharged amino acids such as: serine, tyrosine, cysteine, etc. hydrophobic or hydrophilic? I have seen them labeled as either or in multiple reputable sources. I want to say they're hydrophilic because come on now, serine and tyrosine can clearly H bond with their hydroxyl groups.

Members don't see this ad.

I've always learned them as hydrophilic, but I'm no chemistry expert.

Reactions: 1 user
Are the polar, uncharged amino acids such as: serine, tyrosine, cysteine, etc. hydrophobic or hydrophilic? I have seen them labeled as either or in multiple reputable sources. I want to say they're hydrophilic because come on now, serine and tyrosine can clearly H bond with their hydroxyl groups.

I've never seen Ser or Cys labeled as anything other than hydrophilic. Ever.

Tyr is hydrophilic according to my biochem professor and Garret and Grisham Biochemistry, for what it's worth.