MD & DO Sophomore withdrew last semester. Med school options?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Versani

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I’m new to the forums, and hopefully you’ll see me around the boards.

Background
  • I am a sophomore with 3.86 GPA and a 3.7 sGPA attending a four year public university.
  • ER scribe for 600 hours (~1,800 when done), which has taught me charting, medical terminology, differential diagnosis, etc.
  • Vice president for 1 yr of a student branch of a NGO that facilitates medical outreach programs in third world countries. I was a member for 1 year before that.
  • Last summer I did a medical mission trip to Guatemalan villages.
  • I’m addicted to recreational classes, because I value exercise, health, and broadening my knowledge beyond academics. I typically focus on two activities, including soccer, Krav Maga, fencing, tennis, etc.
  • I’ve been to 11 countries and counting, which has made me aware of and respect cultural differences.
  • I am interested in emergency medicine and global health. I’m at a cross roads between choosing going to medical school or physician assistant school.
I intend to shadow other specialties, do WHOOF, volunteer locally, and improve my Spanish. I will try to get two letters of recommendations from the ER docs and one from a professor. I'll probably graduate before four years, so I'm considering the Americorp. If I go the PA route, than I'd prob work as a CMA or Surg Tech for 1 or 2 years.

Problem