Starting residency after 10 years of med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

steveklenee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Guys,

I am in a unique situation and would appreciate some guidance.

I graduated from a top med school outside the US in 2002. Since then I did some research and then came to a top 3 medical school in the US for a PhD in Neuroscience which I will be finishing next year with a first-author paper in Nature. So I have done exceptionally well in research but now I want to start my residency in Neurology.

I never gave my Steps. I can give them in the next 6-8 months easily. So my plan is to apply for the 2014 match. I never did any clinical electives in the US because back then I never thought that I would one day want to do residency. Now I am fed up of working with mice and want some real human contact and relevance to my work.

Any thoughts on this please?

Thanks much

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think you will be fighting something of an uphill battle, but, then again, nothing is impossible.

Things that are working against you. You still have to study for and take all three Steps... and get your scores back. Getting them all done in 6-8 months would be ambitious. Step 1 is oriented to the basic sciences with Steps 2 and 3 being clinical in nature (Don't forget the CS, too, which has sometimes been a stumbling block for international applicants). Being out of med school for 10 years could make Steps 2 and 3 a little more difficult than you might anticipate. A lot of the knowledge needed for them is "use it or lose it," so I hope that the gap in your clinical exposure doesn't make things too difficult on you.