Statistics confusion

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Would the Biostatistics class count as the Statistics requirement for med schools?

I can't imagine that it wouldn't. Either course should suffice, but I would personally elect to take biostatistics because of the biological applications that are taught in it.

Biostatistics would almost universally be preferred because of its relevance to biological and medical sciences.

Probably. When I was an undergrad, Math stats was identical to Bio stats. Identical course # too. (Math 353 vs Bio 353). Mind you, this was back in the Pleistocene.

It would be nice if I could get a physician/adcom to answer this question as well! @Goro @LizzyM @gyngyn ??

Reactions: 1 users

Last edited:
It won't help on the MCAT but biostats will be vital for research and will be looked upon favorably at schools that require research in medical school.

I luv stats. Only math course I enjoyed.( On a TI-84)

Biostats >>> math stats if you have the option. My whole intro to statistics class was an exercise in derivations and things that will never be useful outside of a mathematics classroom.

Last edited:
Biostats >>> math stats if you have the option. My whole intro to statistics class was an exercise in derivations and things that will never be useful outside of a mathematics classroom.

In my opinion, having a theoretical basis for the stuff you do in statistics is incredibly important. You have to know what you don't know - things break. People can get into trouble fast if they are mindlessly Chi-Squaring and T-testing away, let alone interpreting a logistic regression.

That said, if you are going to be an MD and just don't care about the math, it's probably better to work with your University's stats consulting service.