step 2 cs / comlex 2 pe for MATCH/RANK

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brownsoul

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi, I took comlex 2 pe recently and I'm quite worried I failed. do programs need that passing score before they rank? it seems like a few I'm interviewing at do while at others it's more ambiguous. I was in a catch-22 and didn't want to delay taking the comlex 2 in case I failed. because if I failed in the latter case, I would not be able to retake it and have the score available (scores would be available too late). I feel like if I do fail, I will have the option to retake it in December and get a score by February 10th showing I passed it -- I will go all out and study beyond hard to ensure I pass the exam. I studied the first time for around 4-5 days; my friends told me don't worry about it. I just kept running out of time and doing brief physicals.

I am just worried about how this will all affect me for programs ranking me and match. Is Feb. 10 too late (for rank list). will a retake look very poorly and hurt me greatly in ranking? is there anything now that I can do about it? lots of hypotheticals, I know. but it's driving me up the wall. I had an interview today and have around 10 -- so I feel like there's little anxiety about that... just this exam... and it slowly erodes my sanity. really appreciate the help in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

For the NRMP the rank order deadline is Feb 25. My program director (a decent but mid level program) told me that I needed to schedule my scores so that I would have a pass by the match deadline. She refused to rank people who hadn't passed before the deadline because she wanted that guarantee they were going to graduate . But with that being said, she just cared that they passed.

So you'll have your score in time for the NRMP.