Steps on buying a practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DRZIVAR

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all I am a new and upcoming physician looking to take a step toward being more independent. I am looking to overtake a practice from a retiring physician or even buy an office or an old practice. I am having difficulties searching online for such opportunities. My first choice is to tag along with a retiring physician and gather some experience at the same time and get to know the patients. Anyone has any resourceful leads or comments or websites or insights they can share to make my search more efficient?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If a retiring doc is selling his/her practice, beware. A medical practice has essentially no actual value aside from the accounts receivable, which you typically won't be allowed to keep. If there's real estate involved, that's really all you're buying.

There's an old joke about medical office space that goes:
Q: What's the difference between medical office space and an STD?
A: You can get rid of an STD. ;)

Reactions: 1 user
And watch the real estate side of things also --- I lost a friendship/mentor relationship coming straight out of residency over stuff like this ---

Long story short -- mentor had 1/2 of a building that was no longer being used with 3 exam rooms in it -- previous physician had retired and area sat empty for a while --- mentor used pull with hospital to recruit me out there with the idea that I'd rent office space from him and get his overflow --- well, turns out there was some behind the scenes maneuvering to try to get me to commit to take out a loan to purchase 1/2 of a 1980s building in need of repair with no separate entrance and then we split the electric/water, etc.

When money is on the table, people get weird --- I've seen families screw each other over a social security check ---

Last edited: