Sterile Processing Technician a good entry point into healthcare?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kylept88

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a former media/news/television writer and am deciding to go completely back to the drawing board as far as my career is concerned. I have yet to narrow down which route in healthcare I want to go but I am definitely interested in medicine and directly working with patients who need care. Just as a way of getting my foot in the door of the health care field, I have just interviewed for a full time sterile processing technician position and have a very strong feeling that I am going to be hired. My question is, would this be considered good experience and a good foray into healthcare or am I better off going back to school immediately and working towards finishing my degree. I should say however I am recently married, about to turn 28 years old and I obviously need to be working full time to even consider going back to school. Does anyone here have much experience with the sterile processing field? Any advice much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I am definitely interested in medicine and directly working with patients who need care. Just as a way of getting my foot in the door of the health care field, [is a full time sterile processing technician position] a good foray into healthcare or am I better off going back to school immediately and working towards finishing my degree.
To make sure that we're on the same page, by sterile processing technician, do you mean you will be cleaning and sorting surgical instruments? If so, you will not have any interactions with patients (and likely not with physicians either). I volunteered briefly in one of these sterile processing units and the most interaction I had was with other technicians.