MD Stuck & Not Sure What to Do

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TexasSurgeon

I don't pay state taxes
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thanks in advance to all of you who respond.

First I'm a TX resident. Senior at a large state university with a cGPA of 3.77, sGPA of ~3.75. Both of these will increase if I apply in May of 2015.

ECs:
  • Non consistent hospital volunteering (but still, ~140 hrs)
  • Lots of research (did a summer + semester internship with my PI)
  • Experience in 2 other research labs prior to above ^^
  • Very high leadership experience with a student organization
  • Good amounts of shadowing (total probably just under 100 hrs but in various specialties)
  • Private tutor for small stuff like algebra
  • Done a few summers of office-desk-work (small stuff really)
Now, here's where it gets complicated. I will not be graduating this May because I am taking a "gap year" where I will be doing a thesis with the same PI I did my summer/semester research in + finishing up the last 1-2 courses of my degree. I'm hoping I can get some more volunteering done and maybe some shadowing.

My main issue is regarding the MCAT.
I took the MCAT in September 2014 and scored a 26. Not ideal at all, even for a TX resident. I'm scheduled to retake this month (January) of the 23rd. The first time studying, I completely messed up and realized a lot about myself in the process, namely that I prefer having a course to help with structure and becoming familiar with the prereqs again. So I took the course and I'm feeling confident, but I know that I could score much higher if I honestly had more time.

Here's my options:
Take it for the second time January 23 at give it my best shot. If I score similar to the first shot, I'll have to take it again for the third time.