Student-Athlete and Grad. PT school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BreNanaBear

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore in college, and a student-athlete running cross country, indoor and outdoor track (meaning the only time we aren't "in season" is the summer). I will graduate on time, and I will have one more year of sports eligibility. I am currently a full-ride athlete (and by full-ride, I mean rent, food, gas, books, and tuition all paid for...as many hours as I want to take...well up to 18). I am unclear on the schedule of a grad. pt student, but I know running a 5th year would give me athletic money. Is it possible to do while attending grad. school? Our practice times are the same year round (about 6 in the morning to about 9). We are gone less often than other athletes...for example, in the fall (or cross country season) we are only gone 6 or 7 weekends. My more hectic schedule is in the spring. I just want an honest opinion from anyone or other options as far as paying tuition goes...thank you :)

Members don't see this ad.

Are you sure the scholarship will cover graduate school and not just undergraduate? I am assuming you are looking into the PT program at the same institution. Also, have you taken all of the prerequisites for PT school? Most PT programs are on a full-time, rigorous schedule. The schools I have interviewed at generally meet 4-5 days a week starting at 8 am and run until 4 or 5. Naturally, this will vary depending on the school.

I would hesitate to be so committed to something other than PT education since it might interfere with your performance. However, that is a personal decision you would have to make based on your motivations and ability to keep a tough schedule. As far as other ways to pay tuition, most people take Stafford Loans and Grad PLUS loans. http://www.staffordloan.com/stafford-loan-info/graduate-stafford-loan.php