Student loan strategy: Kicking the can down the road

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lexington2012

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I found an interesting thread on the fatwallet finance forums:
http://www.fatwallet.com/forums/finance/1466051/

The original poster wrote this:
================================================
I think I may have discovered a loophole in how to get out of my student loans for a few cents on the dollar. It is your turn to poke holes in this idea. Let me know any reason why it wouldn't work.

I graduated in in June 2015 and my loan payments are supposed to be $1250 each month when I have to start paying them in December. In my case, IBR would not reduce my payments.

I was thinking that I could register at a community college for 8 credits, then withdraw after classes start. This would give me another 6 months without payments. I could repeat this process every few months forever. It would cost me less than 2k/year to do this. In my case, this would be SIGNIFICANTLY lower than my student loan payments.

In 50 or so years when I get old and die, my student loans will be discharged, so this would not effect my estate.
================================

The person's username is Doxazosin, so I suspect this may be a pharmacist or doctor.

Would this actually work? Seems risky, but I can't explain why.

Members don't see this ad.

It is delusional to think you are going to be able to do this until you die.

People dig themselves into a hole and now they are trying to find a loophole?

Not sure, but I think the grace period would restart once you were no longer a full time student. So maybe you would get an extra few months with your scheme until they processed that you left, but I don't think they would grant a full 6 month grace period again and again.

Plus even if this loophole does exist, you really think that it wouldn't be amended within the next 50 years? C'mon.