Student Loan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PinchandBurn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've got about $200k in student loans at 4.75% interest. After a few more payments will be at 3.75%

This is my first year out as an attending, I'm roughly making about $875 monthly payments.

I've saved up about $90k. I make >$350k a year.

What would you do in my situation? Should I try to pay of large chunks of my student loans to decrease debt?

Or should I invest my money to make great than 3.75% a year? If so in what? I'm also inclined to not pay of my student loans right away (but making minimum payments) so that if a good business/investment opportunity arises, I want to have ready cash. Thoughts or advice?

Members don't see this ad.

I think in your situation, your are best off just making the minimum payment and just investing the money in 401ks iras and 529s. 3.75% is not a ridiculous interest rate. Mine is about half of yours, so I really have no incentive to pay it back. I would say over 30 years, if you just invest in the stock market index in a tax free account you should easily beat on average 3.75% per year.

I just think it is important to be as liquid as possible with money just in case something happens.

I think in your situation, your are best off just making the minimum payment and just investing the money in 401ks iras and 529s. 3.75% is not a ridiculous interest rate. Mine is about half of yours, so I really have no incentive to pay it back. I would say over 30 years, if you just invest in the stock market index in a tax free account you should easily beat on average 3.75% per year.

I just think it is important to be as liquid as possible with money just in case something happens.

hey cinccy-

i agree, I want to be liquid, 'just in case'.