Study medicine in ITaly

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IwannagotoItaly

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I want to go to Italy to study medicine. I do not know Italian. But I can learn. I have a BS degree from a US University, but I am an EU citizen. I have took no premed class and I have not taken the MCAT. How much does it cost to go to medical school in Italy, and how long does it take? Can students who already have a BS apply and get accepted? Or would I have to take those premed classes like I was applying to a US school? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Med school in Italy is a combined BS/MD degree. It lasts 6 years after which you will need to do a specialty/residency. You do need to speak Italian to go to medical school here and I believe that you have to prove you can speak Italian with a test. You also need to take an entrance exam for each school.

THe fact that you have already done a BS will make no difference in Italy. I doubt they will give you credit for any courses you have already taken.

Italy, great place to live, not so great place to learn medicine.

This is my second hand knowledge:
The italian docs I have talked to so far where not that enthusiastic about their training. The university education is very hands off and academic. Every university has its own admission and training standards.

Members don't see this ad :)
f_w said:
Italy, great place to live, not so great place to learn medicine.

This is my second hand knowledge:
The italian docs I have talked to so far where not that enthusiastic about their training. The university education is very hands off and academic. Every university has its own admission and training standards.