Studying And Listening Music

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrSK

New Kid In Town
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear Friends,

What is your opinion listening music while studying is distraction and decreases your efficiency of work OR it helps you to stay away from distracting thoughts?

:cool:

Members don't see this ad.

I don't usually listen to anything while studying, I find it distracting. The only music that I can really listen to when I'm studying is classical, but even that can be distracting at times, so I tend to avoid music altogether.

If I'm doing preliminary read throughs of info, music is good. Something that can get me going.

If I'm seriously studying/memorizing, then I don't listen to anything cause it interferes.

Members don't see this ad :)
depends on what music and how loud. generally avoided but if there is a lot of noise outside then i will put on a little background music to drown out the jackhammers

I used to listen to all kinds of music while reading/studying, but a few weeks ago I switched to listening to Beethoven and other classical music. I find it helps a lot, especially when my suite mates are being loud enough to distract me.

I like to listen to classical or jazz when I'm studying, but the volume has to be so low you wouldn't be sure I had music on if you were standing more than 3 - 4 feet away.

I've noticed that any music at all does affect my concentration some - so I tend to do without music at all the last couple of weeks before test block. Although, for some insane reason (I'm an over-40 non-trad), I've noticed that old disco music seems to help me memorize pharmacology. Go figure.

When I need complete quiet and no music, the quiet does bother me - so I have a small water fountain in my house. A little gurgling water doesn't break my concentration at all and it keeps me from climbing the walls from the dead silence.