About the ads

1. Free Financial Webinar with White Coat Investor! Monday evening at 7:00 PM EDT, hear about the Top 5 Financial Considerations for Starting Residents from White Coat Investor's Dr. James Dahle. Register here. Hope to see you there!

Studying at home versus at school

Discussion in 'Allopathic' started by CampUnity, Sep 21, 2007.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. CampUnity

CampUnity

SDN 2+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    I studied at the school lounge before, and it was going well until I socialize too much there. It's hard not to talk to your friends at the school's study room when you see them there. So I tried to make some adjustment and moved back to my apartment to study. But there's just too much distraction at home. Do you guys feel the same way or experience similar thing?
  2. samenewme

samenewme Senior Member

SDN 10+ Year Member
    Well, let me put it this way. I'm studying at home, only I'm on SDN right now.

Some of my classmates study at a coffee shop away from school. No friends, no laundry/TV/kitchen/Internet.
  3. baylormed

baylormed On the Search

Post Doc
    SDN 5+ Year Member
    I alternate, because I get tired of either place eventually.

I try to study in the library in the mornings, I'll get to campus somewhat early and study until around 4-5pm, when I go home. Sometimes, if I don't go to class I'll just stay at home, and during the weekends I stay at home all the time. I get less distracted in the library, but I'm much more comfortable at home (for instance my apartment isn't freezing!). At home I have a clean bathroom, snacks and water available right away, and distractions for when I want them.