Studying/Taking practice tests while going to school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cvilla0713

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, first time poster, but veteran searcher on this awesome forum.

Heres my situation that you guys have probably seen before… But mine is a little unique.

Right now, I am currently studying for the MCAT since mid June through the Kaplan Anywhere course. I was hoping to take my test this August, but it looks like I will not because I just don't feel ready enough. Im putting in 8 hours/day 6 days/week.

Everything is good right? Now here is where it gets a little tricky. Ill be going back to work in August 14, where I will put my two weeks notice of quitting in so I can focus more on school and studying the MCAT. My current classes that I will take is Genetics w/lab(from what I have heard will be the HARDEST class at my school), Ecology (I can change this to Spanish if you guys think is best), Core class, and a PE (extracurricular, I can just drop) equaling to 13 units.

Also, I would like to volunteer 4 hours a week, but at the same time I can also go on LOA if need be. I also would like to keep working out 2hours/day 6 days/week.

Also, since the KAPLAN course offers a RETAKE course, i was hoping to apply to that and if everything goes well, retake the course.

I am putting in a lot of work studying and getting the ways of taking the test, critical reading and taking skills down and reviewing all the subjects which has been improving gradually, but I still feel like I would not be ready.

MY PLAN: Go to school. But take practice problems through the QBank offered by Kaplan and do ExamKracker 1001 and review the subject when needed everyday. Have one day devoted to studying or taking a practice test and one day rest. I am plan on taking my MCAT this November or in January.

Note: If I take my MCAT in January, then I will have a month break to study hardcore.