Subspeciality Salary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BRAINTRAIN

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that Neurology is among the least earning fields and perhaps we can never make real big bucks...sigh...Knowing all of it we are here, so we are definitely not in for only money, but of money is still there in the agenda. Most of us, if not all, are going through this grind of MedSchool-Residency-Fellowships to ultimately make some money.

So folks please arrange these neuro subspecialities in the increasing order of average salary- Cognitive, Movement, MS, NeuroMuscular, Non-interventional Stroke, NCC, Epilepsy and Headache.

Members don't see this ad.

Heads up I'm a student not a practicing neurologist, but I can tell you what I've learned from my attendings and my mentor in private practice. First, I think you should approach the question differently, i.e. you need to understand that your subspecialty per se is not what determines your salary.

Ways to make more money as a neurologist:
1. Practice in a community setting.
2. Practice in a community setting with a relative under supply of neurologists. No this does not mean you need to practice in a rural setting.
3. Know what you're doing.
4. Be efficient about the way you see patients and be efficient and intelligent about the way you bill for the work you do.
5. Do inpatient consults, take stroke call on weekends. You probably don't need a stroke fellowship for this, but it might help in the job search if you're not doing #2.
6. If you're doing a lot of outpatient work, be able to do some billable procedures, examples; EMGs, botox, etc.