Sufficient ECs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DWMontana

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks,

So I'm in a bit of an interesting situation, as I originally started school with plans to go the MD/PhD route, but long story short, I realized that the split wasn't something I was comfortable with, as I didn't think I could be both a good clinician and scientist under those conditions. I am a rising Junior now, so I have time to sort out any deficits still.

Basically, I wanted some advice on whether my ECs are going to be sufficient for the standard MD entrance route, as most of what I have is very focused on research. I am hoping to aim for top 25 schools when applying, so I'm trying to avoid having a significant weak point in my application. I am academically strong with gpa > 3.9 as a biochemistry major. I am studying with the Sn2ed method this summer for an August MCAT.

Research: I have about a year and a half experience in a biochemistry lab working on proteins, including a summer working full time. I have received two undergraduate level grants for this research. I will be a full time intern this summer at a national lab associated with a top ten research university working on a similar project this summer. My PI has invested a lot in me, and I don't want to cut back on this if at all possible.

Clinical Volunteering: I volunteer on the ER night shift at my local hospital four hours per week during the weekend and have been doing so for about a year.

Non-Clinical Volunteering: I spend a fair bit of time working with a youth organization teaching science classes to elementary-aged students. I am in the process of joining the Red Cross, hopefully as a preparedness instructor.