Suggested Classes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sundevil16

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone have any suggestions for electives that will look good for PT schools? I am a sophomore and have already taken psych 101 and will take statistics in the fall. The only other classes that I need for my major are upper division level. Any ideas for a GPA booster that isn't totally frivolous would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

all they care about are pre req classes. You can take yoga for all they care, just kill pre reqs. Take what interests you, that's what college is for.

I recommend the following

-Medical terminology
-Kinesiology (probably not offered at CC's)
-Biomechanics (probably not offered at CC's)
-Microbiology
-Biochemistry (to really challenge yourself).
-Developmental and Abnormal Psychology

Kevin

Members don't see this ad :)
I recommend the following

-Medical terminology
-Kinesiology (probably not offered at CC's)
-Biomechanics (probably not offered at CC's)
-Microbiology
-Biochemistry (to really challenge yourself).
-Developmental and Abnormal Psychology

Kevin

Also Exercise Physiology. Ive taken Biomechanics and it was a great class. I believe they offer that @ UCLA extension. They might have it online if you do not live in LA.

So at this point in order to get my degree and meet all the PT school pre-reqs I haven't really got an room for any more electives without doing another year of undergrad...which isn't gonna happen...being a biology major though I will have never taken a kinesiology or biomechanics class...do PT schools look at that poorly? Kinesiology or exercise science are obviously the majors of choice for pre-PT, but are they looked at more favorably then other majors. I know people say that only the pre-reqs matter, but there is a big time majority of people going to pt school with degrees in kinesiology/exercise science...