SUNY vs. Nova-NEED Help+opinions Please!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

steviey2493

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well I just got pulled off of the wait list at SUNY today. I am a New York state resident. I also got accepted into Nova too. I need help and opinions from students there now, previously, or anyone with friends there!!!

My main concerns are, if I want to practice in NYS after I graduate, is SUNY going to be that much better of an edge? Is SUNY as hectic as some have said it is? Here is my pro/con list:

SUNY-Pros
1. Most consider it a top 3 school in the nation, very competitive reputation. Their first time board pass ratings are 95%, 99%, and 92%. Really good.
2. In state tuition (even with higher living cost) is cheaper than Nova, around $20k for me over 4 years
3. If I want to practice in New York, I'd think it'd get me a lot better connections and maybe an edge at a private practice for a career!
4. Life experience-Who gets to live in New York City, save money, then pack up and leave? Pretty cool.

SUNY-Cons
1. I've heard its stressful from students. Very type A. There is no summer session, so the spring and fall must definitely be more hectic. I think the day to day life is worse than Nova.
2. Commuting by subway each day I think is going to get old after a while. I can't just hop in my car, drive 3 miles, and be home. I can't hop in the car and go get fast food. The apartments aren't going to be as big or nice as Florida either.
3.I've lived in upstate NY for 22 years. Being in the city is a change, but the weather isn't. They do have a couple rotations in Florida and California though.

Nova-Pros
1. BEAUTIFUL campus. Loved the atmosphere. I believe the environment impacts your learning. I felt I could stay on campus all day. If I have a rough week or day, I get to go hang by a pool or a beach to calm my nerves, and the sun is always shining.