Surgery COMAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ms8

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I wanted to know what you guys have used to study and pass the surgery COMAT. I failed the exam the first time I took it. I studied from First Aid for Surgery, NMS casebook and some Uworld questions and I seriously don't understand what went wrong. Do the questions repeat when you retake the exam? Any tips on what I should study. I really need to pass this time.
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hey! First--Sorry to hear about the test...but no worries, you'll get it the next time around! Also, the NBOME always has some odd questions that probably have no right answer (or if they do, nobody knows it), they just want to make you sweat.
Anyway, I took the Surgery COMAT last November and here is my tips: They take/make most of their questions off a book called "Essentials of General Surgery" by Lawrence....I read this book front to back (you can skip the first 2 chapters about what to expect on your surgery rotation/tips). It's a lot of reading (300 + pages), but I can remember many questions and almost all can be traced back to somewhere in that book. My main focus was on the GI, Hepato/Biliary and Hernias as that was definitely >60% of my test. Other than that, some Step 2 boards books have Surgery sections, so I browsed through them to get a feel for the "most common", as you'll get many Q's right just knowing that.
So, even though that book is a lot of reading, I felt all of the indications for surgery, different procedures, most likely diagnosis, etc. were found in my reading.
Good luck on your studies and when you take it next time around! :luck: Let me know if you have any more Q's!

hey, thanks a lot for your help. Someone else also suggested Lawrence to me today. I will definitely try it. Are there any practice questions in that book?

Members don't see this ad :)