Surgery Letters of Recommendation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
K

kimberlicox

Hi...

Am wondering about resources/information regarding appropriate/desirable stuff to include for US surgical letters of recommendation.

As my Chief of Surgery and faculty members are not US based and have little experience with writing such letters (they are not used in Australia), they are wondering if there are any "codes" or "must-haves" to include in my letter for US residency programs.

Any suggestions or leads on where I can find this info?

Thanks in advance...

Members don't see this ad.

Kimberly,
I am a categorical general surgery resident at a university hospital in Chicago. Your letters are probably the most important aspect of your application to surgery residency. The key thing is to get them from faculty with an outstanding reputation, who know you well and can attest to you being bright, extremely hard working...blaah blaah etc. There really are no codes or anything special required just letters that make you sound like a superstar. Good luck!

QUOTE]Originally posted by kimberlicox:
Hi...

Am wondering about resources/information regarding appropriate/desirable stuff to include for US surgical letters of recommendation.

As my Chief of Surgery and faculty members are not US based and have little experience with writing such letters (they are not used in Australia), they are wondering if there are any "codes" or "must-haves" to include in my letter for US residency programs.

Any suggestions or leads on where I can find this info?

Thanks in advance...
[/QUOTE]

Thank you very much, I was beginning to bemoan whether I'd get any responses.

As I mentioned in my first post, the Chief of Surgery, and others (including Chiefs of Vascular, Plastics) are willing to write me wonderful letters.