Suturing clinic worth it in undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

meowsatmoon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I have the option to attend a basic suturing clinic run by medical students. I'm an undergrad and about to apply to medical school, and I'm a little lacking with hands on experience. Is this type of opportunity worth anything, or is it a waste of my time/money? Would it look good on applications? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

It might be fun, but so is playing XBOX or going to the beach.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I'd do it. As everyone has said, it is USELESS on med applications (you'd look ridiculous if you put it on), but you'll get a chance to bug some med students on their experiences, maybe get some advice for interviews in the particular school, and maybe have something to talk about at interviews (again, not something to show off because it isn't special, but you could work it in as an interest). Plus, come third year, you'll have a little muscle memory developed hopefully, and will able to catch on more quickly.

Is this type of opportunity worth anything, or is it a waste of my time/money?

Money? They're charging money for you to go suture pigs' feet or something? That feels wrong.
I can't imagine it would be particularly compelling on an application, but you can do it if it's fun for you.

How much are they charging?

I don't think it would be worth it. Grab some string and practice tying knots. Don't worry about suturing, especially if you have to pay.