switching to EM as pgy-2

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

technoclueless

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a friend who is a current general surgery pgy-1. He just called me and said he is looking to switch to EM. (I am an EM resident.) I told him SAEM has a list of vacant pgy-2 spots. Does anyone know if he would be eligible for those spots coming from a year of surgery? Does anyone know of any other resources for him to check out looking for available spots (either pgy-1 or pgy-2)?
Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

He most likely would need to contact those with openings in a 2-4 year format (where the first year is a prelim/surg/med transitional).

If he was interested in a 3 year he would need to look into those as a new incoming intern again.

Either way the training stays the same length for him/her (4 years).

Hope this helps.

I have a friend who is a current general surgery pgy-1. He just called me and said he is looking to switch to EM. (I am an EM resident.) I told him SAEM has a list of vacant pgy-2 spots. Does anyone know if he would be eligible for those spots coming from a year of surgery? Does anyone know of any other resources for him to check out looking for available spots (either pgy-1 or pgy-2)?
Thanks.

PGY2 openings in EM programs (1-3 or 1-4) come up occasionally but these programs require that you completed one year in a ACGME accredited EM program and are now looking to switch. From what I understand, these programs will not take a resident into a EM2 position when that person completed a year in medicine or surgery. I would suggest to your friend to look into openings in 2-4 year programs or reapply for next year's match into a 1-3 or 1-4 year EM program and redo his intern year.

Members don't see this ad :)
Some 1-4's will consider you, depends on the program. Still 3 more years regardless...