Take 2nd semester of biochem?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted647690

I'm currently in my first semester of biochem.
Next semester, I would normally take the second semester, which covers metabolism.
Do I need to take this, or could I skip it and self study for the MCAT?
I'm just worried about the likely hit on my GPA, which is currently about a 3.4 in terms of sciences. I will be taking physics II and a difficult physiology course as well, so I'm not sure if it would be a good idea to take all 3. I was planning to study over the summer and take the MCAT at the end of the summer.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you need it for your major? If not, don't take it, because you don't need the second semester of biochem for the MCAT, either.

Do you need it for your major? If not, don't take it, because you don't need the second semester of biochem for the MCAT, either.

I thought metabolism and metabolic pathways from biochem were on the MCAT?

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't know, Acetyl. My biochem covered them in-depth (only 1 semester).

I think if you study them, yes. Many will probably /roll eyes at this but DRAW them. Start with Glycolysis: glucose through pyruvate, all enzymes; then to into the TCA - draw that.

Ask yourself WHY Acetyl-CoA only has 2 carbons but we end up with 6 in the cycle (oxaloacetate comes in with 4, joins Acetyl Co-A to make 6 C citrate...)

Draw gluconeo and then ask yourself how insulin or glucagon might affect it, or not :)

What I would strongly encourage you to do, and anyone else starting prep for the MCAT, is this:

Print out the AAMC "What's On The 2015 MCAT" from the site, and mark off each topic and subtopic to make sure you're covered. In doing this, you'll see exactly what you won't get if you bypass taking a 2nd semester of biochem.