Take a 5th year, change priorities?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HeronsBeak

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently a junior who has taken a long and oft changed path to pre med status. Starting as an engineering student, I inadvertantly got most of the prereqs out of the way but with an avg engineering gpa of a 3.1 and a sgpa of a 2.75. Now I have moved over to int'l studies major and am looking at possibly completing a bio major. I could graduate this coming summer with all prereqs done with just an international studies degree, but I don't really want to and my app would be really weak. My current cgpa is a 3.33 and a sgpa of 3.0, with no hospital volunteering, and minimal volunteering(~20hrs) with my pre med orgs, one of which I am a co-chair. If I maybe double that would be the extent of my app with a slightly higher gpa. Hence not graduating early, but I still have to apply with that. I am planning on a public health internship which would be about 400 hrs of clinical experience over the summer. However, I would like to study abroad as well, fall or spring it doesn't really matter, if I do study abroad I likely won't have a bio degree, probably shy about 10 credits, but having taken classes by then in physiology, epidemiology, parasitology, and immunology and hopefully raising my gpas. For reference I also have a 27 mcat.