Taking MCAT too late?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Airik

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm a former post-baccalaureatte student that finished in Summer 2008. I took the Summer 2009 MCAT and got a 25Q (8VR, 9PS, 8BS). My GPA is about 3.3 BCPM and 3.7 overall. I didn't feel the MCAT scores were competitive enough to apply (right?), so I held off.

I've been studying and had every intention to take a late-May MCAT this year so I could submit my AMCAS right away when it opens in May and have an early advantage. Scores would be released right after AMCAS verification was complete; it would have been perfect. Problem being, every test center in my state is filled until mid August!

So my question is will I be at a huge disadvantage taking that August test date (scores released in late September)? I'd still submit my AMCAS right now in May, and everything besides the MCAT score (letters, etc) is done and can be submitted right away. I really can't put off applying yet another year. I'm even considering flying to another state to take the test earlier if I really have to.

What do you guys think? Thanks. :)

EDIT: Alternatively, do you think I should instead just try applying early (right away in May) with my 25Q from last summer? Florida resident, by the way.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi guys. I'm a former post-baccalaureatte student that finished in Summer 2008. I took the Summer 2009 MCAT and got a 25Q (8VR, 9PS, 8BS). My GPA is about 3.3 BCPM and 3.7 overall. I didn't feel the MCAT scores were competitive enough to apply (right?), so I held off.