Taking MCAT Without Science Background

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mark Duddridge

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everybody,

I was wondering if I could get some advice on taking the MCAT without a science background.

A bit about me...

I graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor's of Commerce honours degree in 2005. Non of the courses I took to earn my degree were science based. That said, my verbal and critical thinking skills are quite good, and I graduated with the highest GPA in the faculty.

I am now considering taking the MCAT, but I have no science background to build on in preparing for the test. So... two questions.

1. Is it possible to score high on the MCAT when the last science course you took was in high school?

2. What is the best way for a person in this situation (me!) to proceed in preparing for the MCAT?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Mark

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Everybody,

I was wondering if I could get some advice on taking the MCAT without a science background.

A bit about me...

I graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor's of Commerce honours degree in 2005. Non of the courses I took to earn my degree were science based. That said, my verbal and critical thinking skills are quite good, and I graduated with the highest GPA in the faculty.

I am now considering taking the MCAT, but I have no science background to build on in preparing for the test. So... two questions.

1. Is it possible to score high on the MCAT when the last science course you took was in high school?

2. What is the best way for a person in this situation (me!) to proceed in preparing for the MCAT?

Mark

1.) To put it bluntly, no.