Taking Pre-Reqs Post-Bachelors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SelleSnowy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I think I've really messed myself up by being dumb at 18, and I'm not sure how to come back from it.

Here's the scoop.
I graduated from Cal Poly Pomona in 2012 with a BS in Animal Science, but didn't pursue the Pre-Vet option which included all of the pre-requisites for vet schools. I wanted to take more Animal Science (specifically Animal Nutrition) courses because I wanted to be a zoo keeper. My parents pressured me to finish in exactly 4 years or they would drop their side of the loans, so I didn't have time to work in a clinic or shelter during college. 21+ units/quarter meant I was in class 7 am - 7 pm every day. Trust me, I'm really kicking myself now! However, I interned for an equine dental technician, the school's beef cattle unit, and the school's meat lab during those 4 years, so I have something extra to pad my resume.
I remember my friends in pre-vet pulling out their hair over orgo and zoo grades, and I was grateful to not be in their position. Now I'm extremely jealous!

It's been two years now. I had to take an unrelated full-time job to support myself, because my parents live in a small town with no animal opportunities or colleges. I've been volunteering at my local zoo (unfortunately I live in San Diego and it's the #1 place zookeepers want to work) but they won't even look at my resume for a job interview because I don't have paid experience in the field. The vicious cycle of needing experience to get experience kicks in.