Taking Step 1 or Step 2 for Residencies.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Darkskies

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a 3rd year medical student at an osteopathic institution. Thus far I have only taken COMLEX level 1 and scored around a 520. I know I am capable of scoring much higher and would have taken the USMLE step 1 as well if I wasn't going through a bad spate of nonacademic related issues that I'm still kind of recovering from. I scored a 32 on the MCAT. I wish I had been able to put the things affecting me to the back of my mind during second year since now that I'm on rotations, I'm finding it very hard to study for the USMLE step 1 at the same time.

I tentatively plan on taking the USMLE step 1 in January either before or just as the spring semester begins. At this point, I think I can realistically shoot for a 200-210 or a 220 at the highest on the step 1. Does this still look more favorable to the majority of residencies over just having a COMLEX score? I also plan on studying hardcore for the USMLE step 2 and blowing it out of the water come July. Should I just forget about the USMLE step 1 and focus on my clinical rotations and studying for the USMLE step 2? Does having only a high USMLE step 2 score and no Step 1 score still give me an advantage over having only COMLEX scores?

My goals are to just do the best I can and have a variety of options to choose from when it comes to residencies. I am currently interested in Internal Medicine(Infectious Diseases), EM, Pathology, and Psychiatry. Thanks in advance!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,