Target Pharmacy or Managed care residency- What should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kitana9

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am a P4 student who is trying to decide what I should do after graduation and I would appreciate your honest opinions. I have an offer as a full time pharmacist with Target pharmacy in my #1 choice area. I am also currently applying for managed care residencies. Ideally, I would like to work as a full time managed care pharmacist after my residency and work part time at Target.

I know that Target is THE BEST RETAIL PHARMACY CHAIN EVER to work for! They're not like the other chains and every Target pharmacist I've met has only wonderful things to say about the job. So that's great because it's a nice, stable job that pays really well. I am the primary income earner for my family so salary is very important to me.

My only hesitation about the residency is I'm afraid that I'll spend a year doing the residency, and then not have a job afterwards because there aren't as many positions available for managed care pharmacists. I am looking at residencies with Blue Cross Blue Shield and I would like to stay with one of the Blue Cross companies or some other major manged care company. I'm also open to working in Pharma/Industry after my residency- IF they'll hire me---I'm guessing they would rather hire candidates who completed an industry fellowship.

Anyways, given the scarcity of jobs in these branches of pharmacy and the fact that I have a REALLY great offer on the table from Target, should I stick with Target and forget about residencies? Or do you think that if I complete a residency, I may just end up burning bridges with Target and jobless in managed care/pharma?

WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

Members don't see this ad.