Temple University

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Febrifuge

Grizzled Old Newcomer
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Has anyone had experience with Temple's post-bacc? I hear good things about it. Seems as though the price is right, compared to many of the private Eastern Seaboard schools, and Philly is definitely a town with a few good hospitals. Are there linkage programs? Some kind of fast-track to a med school? How do they do with MCAT preparation?

I'm a returning student, with a BA in a non-science field. I need to show I can carry a tough courseload of science classes. Most importantly, I want to use my time well now that I'm moving. Who can tell me some Temple stories?

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by Febrifuge
Has anyone had experience with Temple's post-bacc?

I do. I went through the program in 2000. There are several people in my class who went through the postbac as well. I started in May 2000, took all the prereqs, took the April MCAT, and the rest is history.

Are there linkage programs? Some kind of fast-track to a med school? How do they do with MCAT preparation?

There is a linkage program with Temple med. There are something like 5 spots reserved for postbac students. You need to have a 3.0 from undergrad, 3.5 in the postbac and at least a 9 in each section of the MCAT. If you apply for the linkage and get chosen, you automatically get an interview. There is a guy who did the postbac with me that got in through the linkage and is now a year ahead of me in med school. As far as I know you are on your own for MCAT preparation.

I'm a returning student, with a BA in a non-science field. I need to show I can carry a tough courseload of science classes. Most importantly, I want to use my time well now that I'm moving. Who can tell me some Temple stories?