Textbooks. Which best?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

edux

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I am currently a med student making a possible plan for the textbooks useful in the future. I would buy:

1) just as a start to get on my feet: Anesthesia secrets + pocket anesthesia

2) as a valid reference: Barash

3)to get going through and aid in daily cases preparation: Stoelting's (for clinical) + Jaffe (for surgical)

4)preparation for the written exam: Urman-primary and maintenance of certification + Hall

5)preparation for oral exam: Yao + Lovich

This is it! What do you think guys? Enough/too much? Wrong books?

Members don't see this ad.

You are a med student. Do not buy anything beyond Anesthesia Secrets.

Reactions: 2 users
Hello

I am currently a med student making a possible plan for the textbooks useful in the future. I would buy:

2) as a valid reference: Barash

3)to get going through and aid in daily cases preparation: Stoelting's (for clinical) + Jaffe (for surgical)

4)preparation for the written exam: Urman-primary and maintenance of certification + Hall

5)preparation for oral exam: Yao + Lovich

This is it! What do you think guys? Enough/too much? Wrong books?
Holy christ bro, take it easy

Members don't see this ad :)
Only thing you should read as a med student.

The others are for residents/fellows/attendings. Don't waste time and money on anything else.

don't buy any of that crap. As a med student, read Step Up to Medicine. When you're an intern, read the Washington Manual, MGH Pocket Medicine, and the ICU Book. Learn the medicine b/c it's the foundation

Reactions: 1 user
Thanks for the feedback everybody.
I formulated my question wrong.

I am into the final years of med school and plan to enter into residency and to have a career in the field.