The Life of a Psych PhD Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsychMajorUndergrad18

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am curious as to what the day to day activities are like for graduate students. I know that a lot of students put in more than 40 hours a week (especially during writing a dissertation) but what is it like? How would you describe your life as a present (or past) graduate student in 5 words or less? Oh and do graduate students have time for extracurricular activities like attending conferences, spending time with family, have a good amount of vacation time during the holidays or have time to attend sunday church services or have at least a day or half a day off during the week?

Oh and please do not berate me or anyone else for asking these questions. I appreciate your honest opinion but please try to keep any negativity out of the way. I am just a undergrad student whos curious about the everyday life and would appreciate anything you all can give me but just don't bring anything negative (sarcasm is ok but not again please no negativity)

Thanks,
PsychUndergrad18

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know about five words, but if I were to summarize graduate school in a single picture it would be this

BxNQj62IMAAO2Ht.jpg

Reactions: 11 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Definitely some 60-70 weeks now and then, but not too bad. I had a great advisor and a great cohort/friend group. Couple of clinical research gigs on the side that paid very well for masters level work made my living situation very comfortable. It's not like you can take off every weekend and do whatever, but you have time for family/friends/hobbies as long as you are wise with your time and/or are efficient in what you do. My key was being able to write research papers well and very quickly. That definitely cut down on time needed in my office or behind my laptop.

Reactions: 2 users