The old what day is too late question?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vladmoney

It tolls for thee.
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For various reasons I was unable to do much studying during the school year (about 1hr a day for a week). So i started studying this following week when class was over. I signed up for a July 17 test date. But as I am planning my studies I am afraid I will be extremely stressed for time. Furthermore, I will be gone for 10 days with very minimal studying to visit relatives out of the country. I know that there is a Jule 30 and 31 date as well, and I feel like this might be the one I should take. Even if I take it then it will be 9.5 weeks of studying. I would get test results back on Sept. 1 (hopefully!). Would this be an extreme set back in my applications if that is when I will be able to send in my MCAT scores?
I really want to apply this cycle.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes. It is a huge setback to be late. Everyone who has gotten their application in before you will be considered before you. Is it necessarily impossible to get interviews / get in? No. But it is probably the biggest disadvantage you can give yourself.

If someone told me I either had to put two f-bombs in my personal statement and get my application in on the first day, versus no gratuitous profanity and the application gets in two months late, I would honestly choose the former.

I would seriously look at the next cycle rather than trying to do a rush job on this one.