The real meaning behind "strongly recommended"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mandak

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone.

I currently have 20 schools I am thinking of applying to. 12 of them either do not require the subject test and 2 do not mention it at all. Of the remaining 6, they "strongly recommend" taking it. Would it be worth it to take it if it's only recommended, especially for only 6 schools? I majored in psychology with a 4.0 psychology GPA and 2 years of experience in clinical labs. I will also be completing an honors thesis. I understand that a good score can only help me, but there are also downsides to taking it such as preparation and studying/traveling (it's offered 1.5 hours away from me)/and cost is a big one too. **My #1 school of choice is ASU, so anything specific to that is also helpful in terms of what they would want for the subject test!!**

Amanda

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone.

I currently have 20 schools I am thinking of applying to. 12 of them either do not require the subject test and 2 do not mention it at all. Of the remaining 6, they "strongly recommend" taking it. Would it be worth it to take it if it's only recommended, especially for only 6 schools? I majored in psychology with a 4.0 psychology GPA and 2 years of experience in clinical labs. I will also be completing an honors thesis. I understand that a good score can only help me, but there are also downsides to taking it such as preparation and studying/traveling (it's offered 1.5 hours away from me)/and cost is a big one too. **My #1 school of choice is ASU, so anything specific to that is also helpful in terms of what they would want for the subject test!!**

Amanda