Thinking about applying to vet school - looking for honest advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cpcaeduson

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, newbie here! I've been thinking of applying of for vet school and have some questions for you all. I'm currently attending a 4 year college - going into junior next spring and I'm done with their 1st year nursing program. I chose nursing because my family has a big background in it and if I chose to specialize in something else I think I'll get shunned for it. However nursing is really burning me out. Playing patient detective is nice but it's just so repetitive and procedural that my mind gets numb. I just don't enjoy it anymore and the thought of doing this for the rest of my life absolutely kills my spirit. I also work part-time as a vet-assistant and every time I leave for work my mood flips a 180 and I feel absolutely ecstatic about my job. I'm about to pull the trigger and switch my major to biology with the hopes of completing vet school pre-reqs and then apply.

I've hinted my switch with my family a couple times and they've said that vets don't make as much as nurses and will be struggling financially. Is that true? I also plan on discussing this with my college counselor next week too. What do you guys think about this?

Members don't see this ad.