thinking about leaving medicine...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

triscuit

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
but I'm terrified about the unknown. I know this topic has been beaten to death, but I'm an intern in pediatrics now and I just can't, for the life of me, see any light at the end of the tunnel. I hate almost every moment of work. I don't really mind the long hours...it's tiring, but that's not really the problem. I just really don't enjoy the day to day of medicine as much as my co-interns seem to.

I worked in research for a few years, and didn't do a phd, and now I'm really regretting it. I loved my time in the lab, and even though I was putting in long hours, I genuinely wanted to go to work everyday.

So my big dilemma is...stick it out to end of residency or bail after intern year? I feel like life is too short to do 2 additional years of something I hate, and I'm not quite sure what I would do with general peds training anyway...but leaving after intern year just seems scary, and I will basically not be qualified for much of anything with just a year of residency.

And, because I know it will be asked, there really isn't anything else in medicine I can see myself doing. crazy, I know, but I've thought about this a LOT.

Any advice or input would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I would be hesitant about deciding anything early on during internship year just because it supposedly sucks so much regardless of what you're doing. Also, you mentioned having happier co-workers, but are they really happy or better at faking it? We medical people have been conditioned to act like we love everything, so I wouldn't necessarily assume you're the only unhappy person based on the outward appearances of everyone else.