Thoughts on collegiate/professional athletics on med school app

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kujaymed

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first year applying. I am a KS resident. I am doing EDP for University of Kansas
-non traditional student
-3.6 gpa 3.4 s gpa
-508 MCAT( 129, 124, 127, 128)
-played d1 collegiate baseball
-drafted 3x by MLB (Tampa Bay Rays, KC Royals, and Milwaukee Brewers)
-played professionally for 3 years
- 600 hour internship in hospital (physician shadowing (PCP, radiologist, orthopedic, sports medicine)
-current medical assistant in clinic(orthopedics, pain management, general surgery, neurology) 1000+ hours
-observed 50-60 hours of surgery (TKA, THA, TSA, ACL repair, etc)
-trip to foreign country and participated in humanitarian efforts
-100+ hours of volunteering (food drives, feeding homeless, boys and girls club, tutoring underserved)
-academic awards in college (all big 12)
-strong LOR's (one from MLB team physician, college coach, internship and MA supervisor, provider I currently work for , ochem professor)
-no research

I am wondering how much athletics will actually help my application. I am concerned athletics has taken away a lot of time that I could have used for medical experiences. Also concerned my gpa might be too low. Any ex athletes on here with some advice? Thank you guys!

Members don't see this ad.

Former D-1 athlete, here:

It wasn't really brought up during interviews. Like anything, the only time you'll have an admissions member probe you about it is when they have an interest in subject itself. So, obviously, they'll be able to see that you had other responsibilities aside from class. But, it won't necessarily afford you anything beyond what another EC with comparable commitment time would.