To SMP or not SMP, that is the question.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Will get into medical school with an MCAT over 30 or equivalent on new MCAT?

• Yest

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • No

Votes: 1 33.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

BMO90

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so I've had quite the different journey. I graduated from college back in 2014 with a cumulative GPA of 3.27 (3.30 with grade replacement). Science GPA of 3.24 and 3.27 with grade replacement. I've had 6 withdrawals and 4 medical withdrawals from courses in college. One month of shadowing an anesthesiologist, one year of Organic Chem research, and one year of volunteering at a hospital. I originally wanted to apply to some MD+DO schools after graduating, but my wife showed me pharmacy was a good career path and I should take a look.

So I shadowed some pharmacists at local hospitals and they seemed to have a cool job so I applied to a pharmacy school and got in. Flash forward 2 years, pharmacy is not what I thought it would be and it turns out pharmacy is not the career for me. I still have a passion with medicine in that I want to do more with medicine then simply be responsible for drug interactions and adverse events. My pharmacy GPA after a year is 2.56.

There is also a good reason, why I had so many withdrawals in college and low GPAs in college and pharmacy school. It turns out a lot of the problems I had in college and pharmacy school was that I had undiagnosed ADD, and it explained a lot of the reasons I dealt with anxiety and depression throughout college. Now that I am being treated for ADD, most of the depression and anxiety has gone away, and I now feel I can perform at my best potential.