Too late for OMFS or GPR then OMFS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spirochete

OMFS lover
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
OK so i have a got a dilemma going on.....PLEASE HELP ME
I am currently a senior dental student at Univ Louisville, graduation day is next may. I am now interested in OMFS, however, i kind of missed the boat on extersnhips this summer since i did not do any. I did a general practice externship, did about 1000 extractions, and liked it alot. I know OMFS is not only extractions, however i have just now decided to want to do it.
Class Rank: 8/80
GPA: 3.80
Part I: 96
MY QUESTION IS: since i am not gona be able to do any exterships, would i still be able to get in if i applied? or should i plan on doing a GPR next year after graduation which would be the mother of all mothers of externships, then apply to OMFS? I feel like with my scores a GPR is a waste of a year.
What do you think?
Do you think my scores are ok to get in?
Please help me!

Members don't see this ad.

Do an intern year at one of the busier programs: LSU, Emory, etc. This will show you have hair on your balls. If your balls are in fact bald, it will make them sprout fuzzies. While an intern, go to tittie bars with your co-residents and attendings as much as possible and dedicate your resident salary to the sole purpose of buying lapdances and other items "off-the-menu". I mean come on, who wouldn't accept you after that?!

Hi,
You still have time to apply to all programs. You will at least get the experience of OMS interviews, and may get in with your grades.

You can apply for an OMS internship, which will help you apply for the following year. (we have one at our hospital)

You can also apply for a GPR. These will expose you to OMS (each one varies) and also improve your CV for the following year. We have a GPR that last year Korie Dunhoft (UofL 05 ) finished.

Say hi to Dean Woody for me