too old? too late?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

getmoving

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Brand new to this forum, hoping others may offer their feedback to my situation.
I'm 53 years old and considering a return to medical school. Sounds crazy, but am exploring this scenario. Brief history. I started medical school in 1986 and voluntarily withdrew after first year. I was too immature, not sure it was what I wanted, and with my arts/social science background, I was one of the weaker students in the class. I had a tough time keeping up with the science majors who were better prepared.
Fast forward 25 years. I earned a master's degree several years ago in health education and currently teach fitness and health promotion at a community college and also work as a personal trainer. I enjoy the teaching and ironically it is the teaching that has made me think of a possible return to medical school. Last semester I taught exercise physiology and I loved the material - all science/anatomy based. This was a marked change from my attitude towards science/anatomy 25 years ago. This got me thinking about medical school.
Again, I have no idea if this is just a pipe dream, but thought to put my situation out there for people's feedback. I welcome any questions or comments, and in advance I thank anyone who takes the time to reply. Wishing y'all best of luck in your pursuits!

Members don't see this ad.

It's certainly possible, if you really want it; but just to put things in perspective here's your best case scenario: