Toradol

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GaseousClay

:)
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Do you inform the surgeon about giving toradol regardless of the surgery? I usually don't and I use discretion on when to use it but had a surgeon the other day say he was shocked that "you guys don't tell us if/when you are going to use toradol". :uhno:

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a resident so I ask before giving most times. If surgeon says no (almost always...) I ask them why and then I try to engage in a discussion about why not. Most of the time they don't change their minds, but I hope the next time they at least think about it before saying no. The only evidence against I'm aware of is in regard to renal dz, h/o ulcers, reduced dose in elderly, and long bone fractures. Any other times people don't use it?

I also avoid bad asthmatics and if there was significant bleeding just so surgeon won't trip out. otherwise same as you. I just think its funny that they think we wouldn't know the indications and contraindications of an NSAID. They also tend to think 1 dose of it can actually cause more adverse surgical effects than it is capable of.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I do as I please, unless I've had a previous altercation with that particular surgeon over the issue. Them, I will either ask or just skip it.

But I start from the default position that it's OK for me to do the right thing without their input.

It's just not worth arguing with someone who thinks it'll cause a post-lap-chole liver bleed.

Reactions: 4 users
I usually don't ask. But then again I do so little outpatient stuff it doesn't really matter to me. But in residency I wouldn't ask unless my attending wanted me to ask. They were usually of the mindset that after PACU discharge it's the surgeon's problem anyway. Drove me nuts.