Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

istillbelieve

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone in private practice planning on doing this? I have heard that it has been FDA approved for depression and bipolar disorder. Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

I think it's an avenue that should get more consideration but from the data I've seen, I'm not a big proponent of it. It's expensive, not really more efficacious than antidepressants, not recommended for treatment resistant depression (so why even start if unless you want very quick results, but at a cost of what? Several thousands of $$$?), very few insurance companies will pay for it.

I'm an acquaintance of someone that does research on it and he does it at a local institution. I'm very happy he's doing it and I believe this can lead to bigger and better things down the road but for now...not something I'd recommend much if at all.

The initial hope years ago was it was going to be on the order of something as good as ECT minus the memory loss and need for all the anesthesia meds and anesthesiologist. It is nowhere near as good as ECT.

I have seen some data showing it could become much more efficacious with some modifications to the treatment but this is still being studied.

I know someone with a local practice who seems to use it to distinguish her practice from others. I agree with Whopper, though. The data isn't very exciting, and the cost is prohibitive for most.

Doing quality therapy would probably be cheaper and more effective, but not as enticing to those looking for an external fix.

Members don't see this ad :)
Anyone in private practice planning on doing this? I have heard that it has been FDA approved for depression and bipolar disorder. Thoughts?