Transpersonal Psychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spirit guy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello.
I was wondering if anyone knew about transpersonal psychology certificates for post-graduates. I found one online from the Institute of transpersonal psychology.

As for using the skills you learn from the curriculum, is it good to have if you want to incorporate spirituality in a psychological form with your clients? I would imagine so....

So if any of you have any information or advice or listing for such certificates please reply below. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
Be well.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi :)

I'm no expert, but here's my .02

I venture a guess that majority of people here think transpersonal psychology has no place in clinical practice. Transpersonal psych is generally non-scientific, so scientists tend to reject it.

I think the transpersonal stuff is interesting philosophy and does have a basis in reality. For example, I don't know anyone who denies that Jung's archetypes describe a real facet of human psychology. However, applying these types of theories to clinical practice is dicey. Practicing it will place you outside of mainstream psychological science.

Anywho, training in transpersonal psych would probably have to be in addition to a more traditional program that would lead to a licence to practice psychology. After (or while) gaining that licence, you could go for the "certificiate" that would presumably teach you transpersonal techniques that you could integrate into clinical practice.

I think if you go to a transpersonal Ph.D./PsyD program, you may be able to get a licence to practice as a therapist if you jump through a bunch of hoops, but it might be a big risk.

Best of luck.

Thanks for the reply.
Some people view it as that yes. sadly.
I plan on getting my LMHC/LPC and LMFT before doing the certificate.