Treatment of Shock- Vasopressin Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PrePharmStu2009

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I am a student and I kind of have been stuck on a concept and having a hard time making it clear, so hopefully some medical students or doctors can help me. My question is during shock such as sepsis shock or any type of shock, the body loses a lot of blood internally or externally. So through my research Vasopressin is used to " increase peripheral vascular resistance, which in turn increases arterial blood pressure "

So if we increase peripheral vascular resistance, does it mean the body is actually causing coronary artery, arteries to the brain, kidney to DILATE since they are vital organs? Then How does the Vasopressin only cause peripheral vasoconstriction (to skin ?) and not cause constriction of coronary artery or arteries to brain ? My thought is if during shock vasopressin is given, it will causes ALL arteries and veins to constrict which will make it harder to supply blood to heart and all organs causing person to die. This is obviously a wrong thought but I am just trying to understand exactly what is happening when we use drugs such as Vasopressin or epinephrine, Dobutrex to increase blood pressure.

And if coronary artery for example is dilated, then wouldn't the blood have harder time flowing through the artery. Yes, it will be easier for blood to fit, but from understanding the constrictions of smooth vessels is needed to propel blood through the artery otherwise blood will stay stagnant such as in orthostatic hypotension, where arteries are not constricted enough to propel the blood to organs above the heart such as the brain, and blood pools toward the legs? So these are two contradictory statements on what actually is occurring during treatment of shock. Thank you your help.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: