Triple Board (Peds/Psych/Child Psych)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yeti00

She-Ra Princess of Power
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any once or future Triple Boarders out there? Thinking of applying in it this year, just wanted to see if there were any opinions...

Members don't see this ad.

I know you're looking for a current triple-boarder to speak up, but since no-one has I'll chime in (acknowledging that I am not one, rather just a categorical peds resident). When I was a third year med student I had started the year interested in psych but fell in love with peds. I was doing part of my rotation at a community hospital where residents (incl. some of the triple-boarders) from the local children's hosp. moonlighted, so I had the opportunity to pick the brain of one the triple-board residents. His reason for choosing it was to provide general pediatric care in a rural environment and felt that with the dearth of child psych services he would be served well. He liked the residency, but he did caution that the downside of it was the lack of free electives in these highly structured residencies. Alas, this is only one person's take on the matter.
Now for my opinion: I think the above is a legitimate reason and caution. I think one of the best things a triple boarder could do is work at a facility that deals with kids with psych issues and co-morbid complex a/o severe medical issues. There is an extreme need for child psychiatrists currently, but even of the facilities that [you're lucky to have an open bed to] take child psych patients avoid the medically complex kids. A few facilities are designed for these kids. I've dealt with a few of these children and desperately wish that more facilities such as this exist. It is my opinion only that a triple boarder would be sought after at such a place.