True Stories From Podiatric Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jonwill

Podiatrist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I think this thread will be a fun one. Residents, as crazy, interesting, or funny things happen, please share!

Members don't see this ad.

I can't wait to read some of the responses to this one...stuff I'll have to look forward to in 2011:scared:

I was debriding a sacral decubitis ulcer with a general surgeon in the OR. Then the circulator nurse decided to leave and take a coffee break. The patient then proceeded to crap all over the surgical site. It just kept coming. The surgeon kept yelling for the nurse but she was out. She finally came back after about ten minutes.

Members don't see this ad :)
That's pleasant :smuggrin:. I worked in a hospital as a nurse aide before getting into school and saw that kind of stuff quite a bit. I never thought I'd hear about it happening during surgery. Yikes!!

At one of the residency program that I externed at, I heard of a story where a patient had coded during routine foot care services. Apparently, this resident had gone to the ICU to do a routine foot care consult. For those whom have trimmed nails know that sometimes patients scream when you cut too close to the skin while trimming the nail, which results to patient bleeding. Well, the resident apparently had cut the nail too close and the stimulation must have caused the patient to have coded in the ICU. From that point on, a policy was made by Podiatry that there they will not do any routine foot care consults in the ICU at this particular hospital. In general, I tend to agree with this policy because when a patient is in ICU, the least important thing for the patient to worry about is long toenails.

Since I havent even started pod school yet, this is not a residency story.