Trying to get job shadowing, what should I be doing better?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SexyMariGal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to get some job shadowing in, but all the offices I have visited haven't panned out at all. I dress business casual and ask the front desk if the doctor would be open to have me do some job shadowing, since I am a student and am interested in what it is like to be a dentist.

They usually take down my name and phone number and tell me they will call me back, but most of the times, I don't receive a callback and the very few that have called me back tell me that the doctor is too busy to allow anyone to shadow. Does anyone have any advice on what I could be doing differently here?

Members don't see this ad.

go to private practices, and you can experiment with off hours, or lunch hours (prefer the former). Dress is fine, but express alot more interest. I went to about 20 places before i found a whole bunch of sucess in one area, and landed 3 hits. based off this, they liked me and what i was about and hooked me up with their friends and made some calls on my behalf. opened doors 100x easier.

conversations went typically as follows:

I would say something similar to you, but expressing alot mroe interest. smiling introduction, how are you, im feeling great today, i would like to ask you about volunteering/ shadowing / interning possibilities (alot of them didnt know what "shadowing" meant, and i felt it turned them off of the idea somewhat). I'm currently a . . .. and am in the process of applying to dental school. I would really like the opportunity to volunteer here for one day and spend some time seeing what the dentist does if thats alright with you all. Im really interested in dentistry, and would like to see who things work in person and make sure its a career i want to pursue. . .